Dallas      (855) 444-6499
Houston  (833) 515-9098

Continuing Education License Renewal Course

Texas Continuing Education

Don't wait until the last minute! Select your state below and get started renewing your insurance license today!

Available Online Courses for Texas
Texas Continuing Education Package $39.95 Purchase

About The Texas CE Course

This package of courses offers a library of online Continuing Education courses designed to meet your Texas state license renewal requirements. You will have access to these courses for 1 year.

This Texas Continuing Education Package has 16 different courses covering 83 credit hours you can choose from and apply towards your CE requirements.

Course Features

  • One low price accesses the entire course library for 1 year
  • Mobile compatible - take your courses from your mobile device
  • Online courses, with simulated exams and certificate exams
  • Courses include an easy "study by topic" outline
  • Exam breakdowns and helpful End of Course Recap
  • Courses contain case studies and needs analysis where appropriate
  • Receive access to library of courses approved in Texas
  • Certificates are available online in most states
  • Completions are electronically reported to the DOIs where required

Courses In This Package

Course Credit Hours Line of Authority
Texas 8-Hour Annuity Suitability
8.00 Annuity Certification (CE)
Texas 4-Hour Annuity Suitability
4.00 Annuity Certification (Initial)
Ethical Practices: Avoiding E&O Claims
3.00 Ethics
Ethics & Insurance: How to Sell Ethically & Comply with the Law
3.00 Ethics
Anti-Money Laundering
2.00 General
Businessowners Policy (BOP)
4.00 General
Commercial Lines: Property/Auto/Liability
4.00 General
Distribution Planning
4.00 General
Group Benefits & Worksite Insurance
4.00 General
Indexed Product Training
4.00 General
Medicare Supplement Insurance: Closing the Gap
4.00 General
NFIP Flood Insurance
3.00 General
Personal Lines: Protecting Your Clients Home, Auto, & Critical Risks
7.00 General
Principles of Property and Casualty Insurance
13.00 General
Retirement Planning
4.00 General
TX Principles of L&H Insurance
12.00 General

TEXAS INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

  • Producers must take 24 hours of continuing education including 2 hours of ethics/consumer protection.
  • A course may not be taken more than once in any 2-year license renewal period.
  • Producers MUST complete at least 50% (12 hours) of their required CE in certified classroom or classroom equivalent courses. Up to 12 hours of CE may be completed with self-study courses. *Course types are indicated during registration.
  • Students may take an approved course in any line of authority to obtain their Continuing Education credits, but it is recommended that they take courses pertaining to their license type.

SPECIAL TRAINING

  • LONG TERM CARE TRAINING: Before a Producer can sell or solicit Long Term Care Insurance they must complete an initial, state approved, 8 hour Long Term Care Training course. After completing the initial 8 hour Long Term Care Partnership Training Requirement, producers who continue to sell LTC Partnership insurance products must complete 4 hours of Long Term Care CE every license period thereafter.
  • FLOOD INSURANCE TRAINING: Texas licensed producers who sell flood insurance are required to take a 3-hour one time course approved for the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
  • ANNUITY TRAINING: Any Texas producer who sells annuity must take a one-time course approved for at least 4 hours before selling or soliciting any annuity products. After completing the initial 4 hour Annuity Training Requirement, producers who continue to sell Annuity products must complete 8 hours of Annuity CE every license period thereafter.
  • MEDICARE TRAINING: Any Texas producer who sells Medicare –related products must complete at least 8 hours of training before selling or soliciting any Medicare products. After completing the initial 8 hour Medicare Training Requirement, producers who continue to sell Medicare products must complete 4 hours of Medicare CE every license period thereafter.

COURSE PRESENTATION – SELF STUDY

  • PROGRESSIVE – Students must progress through the curriculum by topic.
  • CERTIFICATION EXAM – Students are required to pass the certification exam with a 70% or better.
  • STUDY BY TOPIC QUIZZES – ExamFX requires that all Study by Topic quizzes be passed with at least a score of 70%.
  • STUDENT ATTESTATION – The student attestation must be completed following the certificate exam.

COURSE PRESENTATION – CLASSROOM EQUIVALENT

  • PROGRESSIVE – Students must progress through the curriculum by topic.
  • STUDY BY TOPIC QUIZZES – ExamFX requires that all Study by Topic quizzes be passed with at least a score of 70%.
  • STUDENT ATTESTATION – The student attestation must be completed following the certificate exam.

CERTIFICATES OF COMPLETION AND REPORTING:

Students may print their certificate directly from the course after completing the curriculum requirements. Completions are reported to state entities within two (2) business days of the certificate having been issued. The state charges $0.67 per credit in order to report completions. This fee is charged to the student before the certification exam may be accessed.

NONRESIDENT PRODUCERS

If you have satisfied the continuing education requirements of your home state, Texas will consider that as satisfaction of the continuing education requirements.

CE EXEMPTIONS

  • Producers who on or after January 1, 2003, have been licensed under the Texas Insurance Code for 20 years continuously (no breaks greater than 90 days) they may request an exemption from completing CE hours using TDI Form LHL216, Application for Licensee Exemption or Extension form
  • Funeral Prearrangement licensees
  • Nonresident producers who have met the continuing education requirements of their home state.
  • Producers may apply to the Texas Department of Insurance for CE exemption or extension due to illness, medical disability, or circumstances beyond their control. Unless the extension or exemption has been granted, producers are responsible for meeting CE requirements by their license expiration date.

LICENSE RENEWAL

Producers should receive a notice by mail about 85 days prior to license expiration. Producers may renew by returning the mailed renewal invoice with the appropriate fee, OR producers can renew their license online through the Texas Department of Insurance at: https://txapps.texas.gov/NASApp/tdi/TdiARManager

If a licensee does not complete the 24 hours of CE before their license expiration date, the licensee will have 90 days to complete the remaining number of hours and pay a fine of $50 per deficient hour. If these conditions are not met within 90 days of the license expiration, the license will be inactivated and the licensee will need to apply for a new license.

STATE CONTACT INFORMATION

Texas Department of Insurance
Phone: 512-676-6500
Web site: http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
Mailing Address: 
P.O Box 149104
Austin, TX 78714 -9104



*** The state requirement information above is for informational purposes only. Texas Insurance Training Academy is not responsible for the accuracy of this information. All steps have been taken to make sure that the information relayed here is accurate; however, information is subject to change without notice. It is your responsibility to verfiy the state requirements.


Confessions Of An Insurance Agent

We can get you to pass the state insurance exam on your first try. This eBook will teach you how to be the best insurance agent out there!

Download eBook Free!